Meet The Board

The governance of the Aequus Group is overseen by the Board as set out in the Company Articles of Association. The shareholder retains the right to appoint and remove directors on the Board. The Board has established a Renumeration Committee* to set and oversee renumeration policy of the Group in accordance with the Code of Corporate Governance.

Sally Higham

Sally brings a wealth of experience from the commercial and housing sectors.  She is currently group chair of the Rooftop Housing Group, advisory committee member for the Growth Impact Fund and managing director of In a Box Services Ltd

Mrs Liz Pickering
Independent Non-Executive Director

Liz is a town planner and a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute, with a MSc in Development Planning and 20+ years’ experience in strategic planning and development management in local and central government. She has been a non-executive director with a Multi Academy Trust in Devon, chair of the trust’s Strategy Committee and a member of the Resources, Pay and Performance Committee, giving her wide-ranging experience of company governance and legal compliance.


Mr Bob Marshall
Independent Non-Executive Director*

Bob is a qualified Accountant and spent most of his working life in local government including 10 years as a Chief Executive. He also spent 3 years as a Director of Capita Management Services. He has been Chair of Westlea Housing Association, Chair of the Calne (Wiltshire) Our Place Group and Chair of the Lady Margaret Hungerford Almshouses in Corsham.

Professor Alexander Wright
Independent Non-Executive Director

Alex is Professor of Architecture at the University of Bath. He worked in private architectural practice for 15 years before accepting a full-time academic position in 2005. Alex is an expert advisor to the Ministerial Advisory Group for the Department for Communities (Northern Ireland), Chair of the Swindon Design Review Panel for Creating Excellence and served two consecutive terms as a Board Member for the Architects Registration Board.

Mrs Michelle Hyde
Independent Non-Executive Director*

Michelle has 20 years experience in new homes, sales, development and property management. A varied career which has led to an enviable skill set when reviewing land opportunities, progressing developments through the planning process, to delivery of a scheme. Having worked at a senior management level for many years, Michelle has been responsible for budgets, risk management, health and safety compliance and ensuring that schemes comply with local authority and Homes England regulations.

Vic O'Brien
Independent Non-Executive Director

Vic’s career spans more than 30 years in Housing Development. He has over the last three years been working in senior interim roles for Local Authority Housing Companies.  For much of his career Vic has led Development teams including as a Development Director of a Housing Association for a period of 7 years. He has also held roles as a Partnership Director of a private company and worked as an independent consultant.

Meet Our Team

The day to day Management and Direction of the Company is overseen by a small team.

Tim Richens
Managing Director and Board Member
Derek Quilter
Executive Director Operations and Board Member
Katie Gould
Business Manager and Company Secretary
Karen Flint
Financial Controller